Skip to main content

Application: 2019 SAGE/CSWE Award for Innovative Teaching in Social Work Education

Online Application Cycle is Now Closed
Submission Receipt Deadline was 11:59 pm (USA ET) on Wednesday, May 1, 2019

The annual SAGE/CSWE Award for Innovative Teaching in Social Work Education is presented by SAGE in collaboration with the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE). This award was established in February 2012 to

  • promote innovative teaching in social work by highlighting it as it emerges, and
  • recognize the individuals who have played significant roles in bringing it about.

For the 2019 award cycle, applications will be submitted online at 2019 SAGE/CSWE Award; a completed application form and submitter vita must be uploaded as part of the submission process to be considered for the 2019 award. Two recipients (or teams) will be awarded and recognized each year for outstanding contributions to social work education.

Learn more about the first recipients of this award at 2012 SAGE/CSWE Award for Innovative Teaching.

Applicants and Nominees

Individuals currently engaged in social work education at the undergraduate, graduate, and/or continuing professional education levels may be nominated. The awards are intended to recognize individuals, working alone or in concert, in social work or in interdisciplinary or interprofessional teams when social work is present.

Nominees may self-refer or be recommended by colleagues, students, administrators, or others familiar with the nominee’s work. Nominees may include teachers, administrators, or designers of social work-relevant educational programs. Nominations are not limited to persons who are members of CSWE who work in the United States or to authors who have published with SAGE. Efforts will be made to attract new as well as veteran nominees whose efforts reflect sensitivity to diversity issues, and whose work has implications that cut across method and field specializations. Nominees will be required to submit summaries of the work to be assessed.

Thematic Foci

The two themes identified for the 2019 awards follow. Applicants will be required to select one of these themes during the online application submission process.

  1. Theme: Award for Lifetime Innovation in Teaching Achievement
    This award is given in recognition of an individual who has been teaching in an innovative or engaging way for a minimum of 10 years. 
  2. Theme: Teaching Innovation Focused on the Future
    This award honors individuals whose teaching prepares students for the future of social work practice. Applications should describe teaching innovations in one or more of the following social work focus areas:
  • Social justice
  • Advocacy
  • Child welfare
  • Diversity 
  • Immigration
  • Skill development in practice

Selection Criteria

Three criteria will be used in selecting award recipients:

  1. Effectiveness
  2. Transferability
  3. ​Significance

Effectiveness criteria will be used to measure the teaching innovation’s impact on the learners, the institution in which it takes place, or both. Transferability refers to the extent to which the innovation can be extended to other settings (e.g., from one course or institution to another or from the classroom to the field). Significance refers to the importance or consequence of the innovation to social work education and practice.

The Award—More Than a Ceremony

Two recipients will be announced by mid-May and presented at the CSWE 2019 Annual Program Meeting (APM) prior to the CSWE Membership Meeting on October 25, 2019. Recipients will be encouraged to present their innovations in one of two workshop formats during that same APM.

These workshops will bring together awardees and other nominees to exchange ideas on innovations in social work education that lead to innovations in social work practice. In the workshops the award winners can demonstrate how their innovations work and engage participants in related activities.

Awardees will receive a complimentary registration to APM (one per individual award or up to two per team award) provided by CSWE, and travel and lodging will be paid for up to $1,500 per individual or team by SAGE Publications. In addition, the awardees will receive $500 worth of SAGE books or journals.


Please direct questions about this award to Joshua Perrigo, acquisitions editor, at