Skip to main content

2022 EPAS

CSWE’s Commission on Educational Policy (COEP) is charged with preparing, at periodic intervals not to exceed 7 years, a statement of social work curriculum policy to encourage excellence in educational programs and to be used by the Commission on Accreditation in formulating and revising accreditation standards.  The educational policy (EP) and the accreditation standards are conceptually linked to each other, so a joint Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS) 2022 committee was formed with members from each commission.

For the past 3 years the COEP has been engaged in environmental scan work with respect to the changes and challenges facing professional social work practice, nonprofit service organizations, higher education, and social work education. The COEP has been especially cognizant of the importance of ensuring the relevance of the EPAS 2022 through the remainder of the decade and the next EPAS revision in 2029.

COEP organized the data into five priority areas to be used in the evaluation of the current EPAS: 

  1. Technology and Information Literacy 

  2. Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

  3. Data Driven Standards

  4. Field Education and the Changing Practice Context

  5. Changes and Challenges to Higher Education

In June of 2019, the joint EPAS 2022 committee met to review the work of COEP including the survey findings and discuss recommended changes for the educational policy for EPAS 2022.  The current committee members include:

  • Commission on Educational Policy (COEP) Representatives:  Debra McPhee, Dean, Fordham University, COEP Chair, Nicole Bromfield, University of Houston, Antoinette Farmer, Rutgers University, Melissa Reitmeier, University of South Carolina, COFE Chair
  • Commission on Accreditation (COA) Representatives:  Deana Morrow, West Virginia University, COA Chair,  Michele Hanna, University of Denver, Lynette Reitz, Lock Haven University, Thomas Walsh, Boston College, Chris Bruhn, Aurora University, Francis Origanti, Avila University
  • Commission on Research (COR) Representative (Advisory):  Shari Miller, University of Georgia
  • CSWE Staff: Mary Kurfess, CSWE Director of Social Work Accreditation, Julie Rhoads, CSWE Director of Educational Initiatives & Research and Marilyn Gentner, CSWE Accreditation Specialist

Feedback Collection Methods

The first draft of the proposed changes for the 2022 Educational Policy was sent out for public review, comment, and feedback in Fall 2019 through various methods outlined below:

  • An announcement was sent to all CSWE members on October 21, 2019, informing them that Draft 1 of the educational policy for EPAS 2022 was available and requested feedback. Reminders were sent on November 18 and December 9. Members had through December 13, 2019, to submit feedback.

  • Qualtrics was the survey platform used to administer the EPAS feedback survey. 155 surveys were collected.

  • During APM there were three EPAS feedback sessions: One during the Field Education Institute on October 24 (approximately 150 attendees) and open sessions on October 25 (approximately 50 attendees) and October 26 (approximately 40 attendees)

  • 5 individuals submitted comments via email

Results of the feedback is available here.  Currently, the joint EPAS committee, COEP and COA are reviewing the feedback and developing a full draft with the educational policy and accreditation standards that will be released for public comment and feedback in spring 2021.  If you would like to provide feedback before the release of the full EPAS, please submit here.  

CSWE is committed to a comprehensive and thorough review process to develop a 2022 EPAS that reflects the excellence of social work education programs. Updates on the process will be shared in CSWE’s monthly newsletter Compass and on the CSWE website. If you have questions about the feedback process or experience technical problems with the online feedback system, please contact the CSWE Department of Educational Initiatives and Research at

EPAS 2022 Documents

Timeline of EPAS 2022 Revision

Presentation Slides from the two information and feedback session heald at the 2019 APM 

Recommended Educational Policy Changes for EPAS 2022, which offers an overview of the proposed EP changes for the 2022 EPAS

Draft 1 of the 2022 Educational Policy with tracked changes

Feedback Survey Report on Draft 1 of the 2022 Educational Policy