Skip to main content

Practitioner Education in Substance Use Disorders

The Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) has been awarded a nearly $500,000 grant from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) to expand practitioner education in social work for substance use disorders (SUD).

The 2-year project will create a high-quality standardized SUD curriculum, which will strengthen the preparation of future social work practitioners to deliver effective, evidence-based SUD prevention, treatment, and recovery services. The standardized SUD curriculum will align with the social work competencies identified in the 2015 Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards and include a field education component, which will allow students to practice with individuals, families, groups, organizations, and communities affected by an SUD.

CSWE hosted a meeting November 6–8, 2019 with 22 schools and partner organizations to assist in the development of the SUD curriculum. These programs are committed to piloting the curriculum, collecting data through the student competency assessment matrix, and supporting additional programs that implement the SUD curriculum in the second year of the program.